You are here

Minor in Theater Arts

A Dream Play 2016
Students earn a Theater Arts Minor by completing eight courses (seven, 5-credit courses and one, 2-credit course) comprising a background in the theory and practice of the theater arts as well as a focus on either drama, theater design/technology, or dance. 
Required Courses:
Lower Division (12 units)

• One chosen from: Thea 61 A, B or C
• One chosen from: Thea 10, 20, 21, 30, or 40
• Thea 50 (2 units)

Upper Division (25 units)

• Three History/Theory/Critical Studies courses
• Two Studio Courses, one of which may be a Faculty-Directed production

NOTE: The following do not satisfy Theater Arts minor requirements:
Random 139; Chautauqua 158; Student Prod. 45; Barnstorm 55A & B; Ind. Studies 199, 198; Group Proj. 190

A PDF list of our current Course Offerings, which includes a key indicating which courses fulfill which upper division requirements, can be found here.

Course descriptions can be found in the Course Catalog.

Declaration of the minor:

There are no course requirements for declaring the minor, though individual courses may have enrollment prerequisites, and a major must be officially declared before a minor may be declared. ​To declare the minor, first have an Academic Planning Form and Petition for Minor Declaration form completed by your major department adviser (tell them that you plan to declare a minor). While that plan is current, make an appointment to meet with the Theater Arts adviser to create a plan for and declare the minor—please use Slug Success to make an appointment. 

Students are strongly encouraged to consult early with the department adviser to create an academic plan for a minor in Theater Arts. This may be done prior to declaration. For further information about minor requirements, declaration, or about the Theater Arts Department in general, please contact the Theater Arts Department office at, or by calling (831) 429-2974.

The department also offers a minor in Dance.