You are here

Major in Theater Arts

The major is comprised of a background in theory and practice of theater arts as well as a focus on drama, dance or design in upper-division classes. There are fifteen 5-unit and three 2-unit courses (81 units) required to complete the major. 
Required courses
Lower Division (numbered 1–99)

THEA 10 Introduction to Theater Design and Technology
THEA 20 Intro. to Acting or THEA 21, Acting Studio I: Psychological Realism
THEA 30 Introduction to Dance Theory and Technique
THEA 61A Ancient and Medieval Drama
THEA 61B Drama from the Renaissance to the Modern Age
THEA 61C The Birth of the Modern: Drama and Performance After the Renaissance  
One 5-unit Elective (any lower division THEA course not being used for another requirement)
THEA 50 Fundamentals of Theater Production (2 units) [Must be taken three times]

Upper Division (numbered 100–199)

THEA 160 Dramatic Theories *
Two history/theory/critical studies courses
Two studio courses
One 5-unit Elective (any upper division THEA course not being used for another requirement)
One Faculty-Directed Production
THEA 185 Senior Seminar *



The major’s Faculty Directed Production requirement or an upper division studio requirement (major or minor) is filfilled with a 5-unit Thea 151, Thea 151A, Thea 155, Thea 137 and possibly one or two other courses—check with the department adviser.

The following do not satisfy Theater Arts major requirements:
Random 139; Chautauqua 158; Student Prod. 45; Barnstorm 55A & B; Ind. Studies 199, 198; Group Proj. 190

* The DC general education requirement is satisfied by completing:

Thea 160, Dramatic Theories in Junior year (offered Spring only)
Thea 159, Avanced Playwriting (offered annually, check class schedule)
Thea 185, Senior Seminar in Senior year (offered Fall only)

For more information on these courses please see the Course Catalog.

Students are encouraged to complete these courses as early in their studies as possible so that the petition to major status can be accomplished.


    • Four-year students must pass three lower-division courses to declare the major:
            • 1 course chosen from THEA 61A, B, or C (history/Thory/Critical Studies)
            • 2 courses chosen from THEA 10 (design), 20 or 21 (acting), or 30 (dance)
        Four-year students must declare a major by the end of their Sophomore year (or equivalent). 

    • Transfer students may declare the major with no prerequisites as early as their first quarter on campus, 
        with the understanding that unfulfilled lower division requirements will be completed as soon as possible. 
       Transfer students must declare a major by the end of their second quarter at UCSC.

We strongly suggest that you consult early with the department adviser to create an academic plan for a major in Theater Arts. Please use Slug Success to make an appointment. 

For further information about requirements, declaration, or the Theater Arts Department in general, please contact the us at, or by calling (831) 429-2974. The department office is located in room J106, Theater Arts Center.

The department also offers a minor in Theater Arts and a minor in Dance.